Love Languages

Last week we talked a little about an article on the power of touch and its ability to impact emotional intimacy and increase successful communication. Have you noticed that you’ve been particularly appreciative of this new habit of using touch to connect with others? Maybe physical touch is your love language.

What’s that you say? Love languages? What’s a love language? Gary Chapman has written a book and developed a test to help you figure out what your love language is. The basic premise is that we each primarily give and receive love in a specific way. The five love languages are:

  • words of affirmation
  • physical touch
  • acts of service
  • receiving gifts
  • quality time

So what’s the point of these “love languages”? Well, they’re tools. They’re instructions that help you love your partner more effectively and more specifically. If your partner says they don’t feel very loved, or they don’t feel that you respect them, maybe you could use some help. Check it out here: and take the test, have them take it as well, and get started loving in a new, improved, more targeted way!

What questions does this bring up for you? I’d love to hear them! Please leave a comment. If you’d like to know more about how to start loving your spouse more intentionally and need practical help, contact me to set up a complimentary consultation today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign Up for the Monthly Wellness Newsletter

Contact me for a session.